Hamburger Helper No GF Options Anymore

You may have seen awhile back, and even tried, the Hamburger Helper meals that were labeled gluten-free (chicken fried rice, beef fried rice, and a cheesy hashbrown).  Be advised that the meals will not be gluten-free anymore, due to production changes.

The following is an excerpt that I received in a leadership email:

We regret to inform you that due to a location change in production, our three gluten-free Helper products (Hamburger Helper Cheesy Hashbrown, Asian Helper Chicken Fried Rice and Asian Helper Beef Fried Rice) will soon no longer be gluten-free.

Although we are making efforts to minimize overlap and confusion at the shelf, you may find both gluten-free and gluten-containing product on the shelf while the new product works its way through the distribution system. Once the change in manufacturing location has been made, the new product will be clearly marked with “May Contain Wheat” and will no longer carry the “gluten free” claim. As we always recommend, please read the information on the package carefully as it will communicate which product has the potential of containing gluten.

General Mills wants to assure those following a gluten-free diet that we remain committed to providing a variety of gluten-free products. We now have over 300 products that are gluten-free. A current list can be found at GlutenFreely.com.

Be VERY careful, if you are still purchasing them, to only get the boxes labeled gluten-free, and double check the ingredients listing.

This entry was posted in GF Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>